Holiday Giving-Beware

It seems strange that Christmas is a little over a month away and crops are still in the field. This fall has been a crazy one with many challenges. I cannot remember a time that we have been finishing up plowing so late. Lets hope the rain/snow mix holds off until late this weekend.

With the holiday spirit getting the best of me, I am already planning and shopping for all the lovely people on my gift giving list. For those hard to buy for people, I will sometimes make a contribution in their name to a charity that I believe expresses my and their values. Charity giving can be fun, but you need to be fully informed of the organization you are giving to. Sometimes organization are not what they seem.

One organization in particular is the Humane Society of United States (HSUS). This organization is in no way connected to your local humane society. In fact, they don’t run any shelters at all. Their ultimate goal is to eliminate animal agriculture (and that includes us farmers).

A  good way to learn about a nonprofit is to visit: http://www.GuideStar.org. This organization complies 501c3 listings and analysis their tax returns.

Some organizations that we feel are a good fit for our farm’s mission are:

Still not sure what to buy for those special people in your life? How about a cheese and wine basket filled with Organic Valley cheese? Sounds  like a fabulous idea to me, you will be supporting family farms like ours!

Emily

Leave a comment

Filed under family

Comments are closed.